Rating System

Please note: I am no longer using this rating system.  Visit the Enjoyment Scale page for my current rating system. 

A++ A+ A A-/B+ B B-/C+ C C-/D+ D D- F
5 4.5 4 3.5 3 2.5 2 1.5 1 .5 0

My rating system is loosely based on the Goodreads rating system.  Instead of stars, however, I’ve chosen to give books letter grades.

A++ = 5 stars.  This book is so amazing that it deserves two pluses.  It will be rare to see this rating, but if you do, you’ll know I’m serious about the book.

A = 4 stars.  I really liked the book.

B = 3 stars.  The book was good and I liked it, but I’m not overly excited about it.

C = 2 stars.  The book was okay, but nothing special.

D = 1 star.  I finished the book, but didn’t like it.

F = DNF.  I couldn’t finish the book.

Sometimes my views are caught somewhere between stars (or, in my case, grades), and that is where the shaded grades (+/-) come in.  For example, if I rate something as 3.5, I will give it either an A- or a B+.  An A- is for a book that I really liked, but there were some detracting features, and B+ is for a book that was good, but that had some extra factors that makes it better than other B (3 star) books.

For more explanation on my ratings, read this post.