I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm by Kelly Bowen {Amanda’s Review}

Posted 7 December, 2015 by Amanda / 10 Comments

I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm by Kelly Bowen {Amanda’s Review}I've Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm by Kelly Bowen
Series: The Lords of Worth #1
four-half-stars
Also in this series: A Good Rogue is Hard to Find (The Lords of Worth, #2), A Lady's Guide to Skirting Scandal
Genres: Romance, Historical, Erotica, Regency
Pages: 352
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Where Secrets Smolder...

Calm. Cool. Collected. Gisele Whitby has perfected the art of illusion—her survival, after all, has depended upon it. Years ago, to escape an abusive husband, Gisele "disappeared." Now she must risk revealing her new identity to save another innocent girl from the same fate. But she needs a daring man for her scheme, and the rogue in question shows a remarkable talent . . . for shattering Gisele's carefully constructed façade and igniting her deepest desires.

...Passion Ignites.

This isn't the first time Jamie Montcrief has awakened naked and confused from a night of drinking. It is, however, the first time a stunningly beautiful woman offers him payment afterward. Gisele has a business proposition for him, a mission involving cunning thievery and a brazen rescue. How can he say no to a plot this dangerous . . . and a woman this delectable?

Immediately had to have next books.

Thoughts on I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm

Why do I love blogger recommendations? Because it gives me books like I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm by Kelly Bowen, which I picked up after Felicia, the Geeky Blogger, tweeted about it.

Bloggers are the best. I adored this book. So much so that I bought the next book in the series AND the novella that follows. I’ve seen Kelly Bowen described as for fans of Sarah MacLean and Julia Quinn, and while I normally ignore comparisons, in this case, it was 100% true.

We don’t know much about Gisele or the “job” she has for Jamie to do at the beginning, and it took a while before we got some much needed information, but I appreciated the time to learn who Gisele was before we learn about her past.

I also liked that when we meet Jamie Montcrief, he’s no one’s hero. Gisele drags him out of a bad spot, and through her and what she connects to in him, we see his true potential. Those two got far more than they bargained for when Gisele hired Jamie. But that’s the way we like it, right?

There’s also an element of… suspense?… in I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm, where we get to learn how Gisele intends to use Jamie to stop a wedding. And what they plot to do is not easy, by any means, and it holds the potential to be very dangerous. Because Gisele’s husband is not a nice man.

But Gisele and Jamie aren’t alone, and the side characters here, the Dowager Duchess and Sebastian (for starters), were just as intriguing as our hero and heroine. The Dowager Duchess, in particular is the type of character whose page time might be minimal, but who has a story all her own. I hope book 2 gives us more of that.

I think I’ll have to keep my eye on Kelly Bowen. She has the potential of fast becoming a favorite.

four-half-stars

Filed under: ESR: 8, Review: Amanda,

Divider

10 Responses to “I’ve Got My Duke to Keep Me Warm by Kelly Bowen {Amanda’s Review}”

  1. Can I say how happy I am that you tried this author out? She is definitely one I knew you would love!! I like her style too, and I love how she mixes it up with some good mystery too. She has made regency come alive for me again so I really admire her writing.

  2. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairy Tale Reviews

    This series is one of those rare ones where I read the books out of order. I liked book 2, enjoyed the novella, and flat-out adored book 3. And I still haven’t read book 1! I have it on my e-reader and I plan on reading it very very soon. The Dowager is amazing and she definitely has some scene-stealing moments in book 2. :)

  3. I love blogger recommendations! I’ve found so many great reads that way. I really need to get into the historical romance genre. I know I will love it!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge