Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore {Amanda’s Review}

Posted 24 November, 2015 by Amanda / 8 Comments

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore {Amanda’s Review}Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore
three-half-stars
Genres: Romance, Historical, Scottish, Regency, Victorian, 20th Century
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads

Perfect for readers of Maya Banks, Monica McCarty, and Sabrina Jeffries, Jennifer Haymore’s seductive Highland Knights series heats up with an electrifying tale of class warfare, fierce loyalties, and forbidden love.

With blood still drying on the front lines at Waterloo, Lady Grace Carrington helps an injured soldier to a British medical tent. Though she believes she’s pulled him to safety, in fact she has put them both in grave danger: Because when his brilliant blue eyes meet hers, the passionate Scottish sergeant kisses her in a way that leaves her breathless and trembling. As the obedient daughter of an earl, Grace shouldn’t be tempted by someone so far below her station. But as a red-blooded woman, she longs for so much more.

As far as Duncan Mackenzie is concerned, getting stabbed in the arm was the best thing that ever happened to him. When he wakes on the battlefield, the sight of Grace’s lovely face sets his soul aflame. As an enlisted man and a farmer’s son, however, pursuing his guardian angel means facing the wrath of London society, not to mention his own superiors in the British Army. Aye, but he’d risk all that and more just to keep her in his arms.

A little something something was missing.

Thoughts on Highland Heat

There’s nothing really wrong with Highland Heat, but there’s nothing that truly stands out with it, either. And that’s a good summation of how Highland Heat was for me. A solid three star read. I didn’t hate it, but I did find myself putting it down to check my phone and do other things.

The biggest obstacle I had with Highland Heat is that although the characters weren’t supposed to be together due to class differences, nothing really stopped them from being together. They seemed to talk about how they weren’t supposed to be together more than they were ever really dragged apart. It reduced the tension of their “stolen” moments together.

I also wasn’t convinced of Duncan’s “reckoning” — when he’s finally convinced he and Grace should be together. View Spoiler »

Duncan was part of a group working for the government to “put down” dissenters, but that only seemed to be relevant to a) keep Duncan and Grace apart for a bit and b) create drama at the end/climax and c) convince Grace’s father that Grace and Duncan were supposed to be together. It was almost an after thought, and certainly didn’t feel like it was a central part of the overall plot.

View Spoiler »

That said, Highland Heat was still an likable read. Grace’s sister and brother-in-law’s romance may have actually been slightly more interesting than Grace and Duncan’s insta-attraction, but I didn’t dislike this book. Jury’s still out on whether I’d read more from this series.

three-half-stars

Filed under: ESR: 7, Review: Amanda,

Divider

8 Responses to “Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore {Amanda’s Review}”

    • Not really. It could have been crazy, angsty, but it wasn’t. If anything, I’d say there wasn’t enough drama (although I think I enjoy more drama in my stories than you, so…).

  1. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairytale Reviews

    I haven’t read anything by this author, but she is on my “try someday” list. I do love Highland set romances so I may wait until I can get this from the library. Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge